Addressing Your Concerns
HOW DO I COMPLAIN ON A WRECKER COMPANY?
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation regulates tow companies. Their online complaint form is located at
WHAT ARE THE ALCOHOL LAWS RELATED TO MINORS IN TEXAS?
Alcohol - related offenses committed by minors Alcoholic Beverage Code 106.071 and 106.115
Underage Drinking Laws
Minors who purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, or consume alcoholic beverages, as well as minors who are intoxicated in public or misrepresent their age to obtain alcoholic beverages, face the following consequences
Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $500
Attend an alcohol awareness class
8 – 40 hours community service
30-180 days loss or denial of driver’s license
If a minor is 17 years of age or older and the violation is the third offense, the offense is punishable by a fine of $250 to $2,000. Confinement in jail up to 180 days or both, as well as automatic license suspension.
A minor with previous alcohol-related convictions will have his or her driver’s license suspended for one year if the minor does not attend alcohol awareness training that has been required by the Judge.
PENALTIES FOR PROVIDING ALCOHOL TO A MINOR
Adults and minors who give alcohol to a minor also face a stiff penalty. The punishment for making alcoholic beverages available to a minor is a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $4,000, confinement in jail for up to a year, or both. Additionally, the violator will have his or her driver’s license suspended for 180 days.
Persons 21 or older ( other than the parent or guardian ) can be held liable for damages caused by intoxication of a minor under 18 if the adult knowingly provided alcoholic beverages to a minor or knowingly allowed the minor to be served or provided alcoholic beverages on the premises owned or leased by the adult.
The State of Texas requires complaints against police officers to be in writing and signed in order to discipline an officer. All written complaints are investigated in this department. The complaining party will be notified of the results. Unless your complaint is criminal in nature, it is suggested you call and speak to a supervisor first. The vast majority of our complaints are a miscommunication or misunderstanding, whether on the part of the complainant or the officer. Many simply require counseling or training to correct a behavior.
WHAT SHOULD I DO WHEN I GET PULLED OVER?
If you see the red and blue lights behind you, don't panic. Pull over to the right as soon as possible and when it is safe. If it is night, signal the officer you see him (maybe turn your right signal on or wave), and pull into a lighted parking lot if possible. Keep your hands on the wheel and in plain sight. If night time, turn your interior light on. If you have tinted windows, roll them down. Keep in mind, statistically speaking, more officers are killed on traffic stops than any other situation. They may be a little cautious. The consideration you show can only make the stop easier for you AND the officer.
DO GIDDINGS OFFICERS HAVE A TICKET QUOTA?
No. It is illegal in the State of Texas to have a "ticket quota." In fact, in Giddings we write way more warning citations than regular ones. Our job is to get compliance with the law. Often a warning will do that; however, it is at the discretion of the officer.
WHAT TYPE OF CRIMES SHOULD I REPORT?
All of them! If you aren't sure, call us. Way too often people tell me, "Well, I didn't know if it was really anything bad and I didn't want to bother you." PLEASE BOTHER US! I would rather run 100 calls for service that turn out to be nothing, than miss one bad situation because someone didn't call.
DOES GIDDINGS ALLOW "RIDE-ALONGS?"
Absolutely! We encourage it! If you are a resident or an applicant and want to see what being an officer is all about, call us and we can set you up to ride with an officer on shift. You must sign a waiver, have a valid ID, and not have a serious criminal record.
WHAT ARE THE QUALIFICATIONS TO BE A POLICE OFFICER?
See our recruiting page for details. The State has specific requirements and each agency has additional requirements for police officers. We are always taking applications. If there are no current openings, we will keep your application on file and call you when one becomes available.